INSA Medal for Young Scientists – the Bengali connection

INSA Medal for Young Scientists – the Bengali connection

June 24, 2014

The INSA Medal for Young Scientists for 2014 were given out last May and Bengali scientists formed a significant clutch of achievers, 10 out of 30 or one-third, to be precise. Bengali scientists have always formed a not insignificant group among the awardees, and this year it’s on the higher side.

These awards are popularly known as Junior Bhatnagar awards, after the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, the most coveted award in multidisciplinary science in India, which are given annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar was a famous scientist who is revered as the ‘father of research laboratories’ in India. Among other things, he was the first director-general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and the first chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar

The awards

Indian National Science Academy (INSA) is an autonomous body under the Ministry of Science and Technology that promotes research among scientists below the age of 35 years. Scientists who receive the INSA Medal or Junior Bhatnagar award get included in the top bracket and in future, their research gets a lot of patronage.

Thirty scientists are selected by a selection committee of INSA for the award each year. Each awardee is given a medal made of bronze, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 25,000. The recipients may also be considered for seed money to support their research.

The bronze medal is 6.35 cm in diameter and weighs about 114 g. The obverse side of the medal has the name of the award and the awardee in Devnagari script as well as the year of award, while the reverse side depicts the seal of INSA.

All the scientists do not necessarily work in India now, but the work for which they have been recognised was done in India. Any Indian citizen who has not attained the age of 35 years on December 31 of the previous year is eligible for the award. The awards have been given since 1974.

The INSA logo

The Bengali awardees in 2014

Dr Suryasarathi Bose: PhD, Department of Materials Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

WHY: Contributions in the processing of nanoparticles dispersed by conducting copolymer composites

Dr Suryasarathi Bose

Dr Sayan Chakraborti: PhD, Junior Fellow, Society of Fellows, Harvard University, USA

WHY: Significant contribution leading to the uncovering of a new class of mildly relativistic supernovae which straddle the gap between ordinary supernovae and ultra-relativistic gamma ray bursts

Dr Sayan Chakraborti

Dr Abhijit Chatterjee: PhD, Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai

WHY: Notable contributions in material informatics in energy systems and catalytic reactions

Dr Abhijit Chatterjee

Dr Soumya Das: PhD, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

WHY: Impressive contributions to the study of Fourier coefficients of modular forms. His most important work characterises cusp forms in terms of the growth of their Fourier coefficients.

Dr Soumya Das

Dr June Ghosh: PhD, CSIR- Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Infectious Diseases and Immunology Division, Kolkata

WHY: Valuable contributions in the field of leishmaniasis and in revealing the understanding of molecular pathogenesis

Dr Sukanta Jash: PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Centre for Regenerative Medicine, Richard B Simches Research Center (at Massachusetts General Hospital), Harvard Medical School, Harvard University, USA.

WHY: Notable contribution in modulation of mitochondrial function by RNA delivery

Dr Sukanta Jash

Dr Debabrata Maiti: PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai

WHY: Outstanding contribution in metal-mediated organic transformation

Dr Debabrata Maiti

Dr Animesh Mukherjee: PhD, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

WHY: Significant contributions in language dynamics in cognition and perception

Dr Animesh Mukherjee

Dr Santanu Mukherjee: PhD, Department of Organic Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

WHY: Outstanding contribution in organocatalytic approach to control stereochemistry at the quaternary centres.

Dr Santanu Mukherjee

Dr Mithun Palit: PhD, Scientist ‘D’, Advanced Magnetics Group, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory, Kanchan Bagh, Hyderabad

WHY: Working towards a comprehensive understanding of solidification, texture and phase transformations, and magenetostrictive properties of Tb-Dy-Fe and Fe-Ga alloys. His work covers both theoretical as well as experimental investigation. These fundamental studies have culminated in a practical transducer device.

Dr Mithun Palit

< Back to List

Comments (0)
Post a Comment Comments Moderation Policy
Name:    Email:
Security Code:
(Please enter the security code shown above)

Comments and Moderation Policy encourages open discussion and debate, but please adhere to the rules below, before posting. Comments or Replies that are found to be in violation of any one or more of the guidelines will be automatically deleted.

  • Personal attacks/name calling will not be tolerated. This applies to comments or replies directed at the author, other commenters or repliers and other politicians/public figures. Please do not post comments or replies that target a specific community, caste, nationality or religion.

  • While you do not have to use your real name, any commenters using any writer's name will be deleted, and the commenter banned from participating in any future discussions.

  • Comments and replies will be moderated for abusive and offensive language.


© 2022 Maa Mati Manush About Us  |  Contact   |   Disclaimer   |   Privacy Policy   |   Site Map